Frequently asked questions regarding a West Virginia Real Estate License
1. What is a REALTOR®?
2. How do I contact the Board office?
3. When I call the Board office, will I be able to speak directly with a Board member?
4. What are the qualifications for licensure by exam?
5. What are the broker education requirements?
6. I have a real estate license in another state and wish to become licensed in West Virginia. Can I apply through reciprocity?
7. How do I apply for the examination?
8. I am licensed in West Virginia, and applying for licensure in another state. The other state is requesting verification of my West Virginia license. What do I need to do?
9. My license is on inactive status. Do I still need to renew?
10. How do I go about filing a complaint against a real estate licensee?
11. I need to renew my license, but I haven’t received my renewal form. What do I need to do?
12. My renewal payment was one day late and I have always paid on time. Can you waive the late fee?
13. I did not renew on time because I didn’t receive my renewal card. Do I still have to pay a late fee or reinstate my license?
14. Does the WVREC office use the date of receipt or the postmark date to determine whether an application or renewal was received on time?
15. My address and/or name has changed. What do I need to do to notify the Commission?
What is a REALTOR®?
The wording REALTOR® is often loosely used as a synonym for a real estate agent, however this is incorrect to assume that a real estate agent IS a REALTOR®. Being a REALTOR® involves being a member of a private professional organization. When you acquire a real estate license in WV and become a real estate agent (salesperson or broker) you can also become a member of the National Association of REALTORS®.
Whether or not you decide to become part of this designation is up to you and your broker. It is a voluntary decision and is completely unrelated to gaining your license. This is why you can technically be a real estate licensed salesperson or broker and NOT be a REALTOR®.
State law requires a licensee to practice real estate, but does not require any licensee be a REALTOR®.
How do I contact the Board office?
You may reach the West Virginia Real Estate Commission by phone at 304-558-3555 (Licensing Section) by FAX at 304-558-6442, or by e-mail at email@example.com . Additionally, if you have information that you would like to mail to the Board, please send it to:
West Virginia Real Estate Commission
300 Capitol Street, Suite 400
Charleston, WV 25301
When I call the West Virginia Real Estate Commission, will I be able to speak directly with the commission?
Not necessarily. The commissioners do not work in the office regularly. They come into the Board offices for Board meetings and hearings, but are not there on a daily basis.
Board office staff members can answer your questions and are trained to process all information that comes into the Board office. Please do not contact Board members directly nor is there any need to do so.
What are the qualifications for licensure by exam?
Salespersons must complete a 90-hour course and pass the State Salesperson Examination given monthly in Charleston, WV. Brokers must complete 180 hours of required broker-specific and broker-related courses, submit verification of experience (actively engaged as a salesperson for 36 out of the 48 months preceding application for licensure) so that the commission can approve the broker candidate to test and then pass the the broker examination given in Charleston, WV each month. You can see a list of test dates here.
I have a real estate license in another state and wish to become licensed in West Virginia. Can I apply through reciprocity?
Yes. See a list of reciprocal states here These do change from time to time. You can also give the WVREC a call (304-558-3555) and double check as laws change and requirements do also from state to state.
How do I apply for the examination?
Hopefully you have enrolled in a real estate education provider that is helping you with this process. There are a few steps that need done. Have a background check done through identogo.com and submit a state application on or BEFORE the month’s filing deadline Check deadlines here in which you hope to test. Finally, you need to complete the 90 hours of education required in the state of West Virginia to test. A good real estate school should really guide you through these 3 parts so that you are sure to be filed correctly.
I am licensed in West Virginia, and applying for licensure in another state. The other state is requesting verification of my West Virginia license. What do I need to do?
Everyone must get a certificate of licensure from all states that you may hold another sales person or broker’s license in. You can gain this from contacting the West Virginia Real Estate Commission. Call 304-558-3555
My license is on inactive status. Do I still need to renew?
EVERYONE must renew their WV real estate license for $50, every year by June 30th. If you are late you can pay an additional late fee. You are given FIFTY WEEKS, before you lose your license for NON-payment of your yearly license fee. That means if you forget, you won’t lose your license until June 15th of the FOLLOWING year. If you try to renew your license on June 16th, you will have to take the state exam again. If your education is OLDER than 5 years you will have to take the 90 hour course again before you are allowed to test.
I need to renew my license, but I haven’t received my renewal form. What do I need to do?
Contact the WV REAL ESTATE COMMISSION, 304-558-3555. If you have moved and not given them your new address, they may not have been able to find you.
My renewal payment was one day late and I have always paid on time. Can you waive the late fee?
I did not renew on time because I didn’t receive my renewal card. Do I still have to pay a late fee or reinstate my license?
Yes. YOU must remember to renew every year no later than June 30th. Your check must be at the WVREC office on or BEFORE June 30.
Does the WVREC office use the date of receipt or the postmark date to determine whether an application or renewal was received on time?
The date the application or renewal was received in the agency determines whether it is on time, not the postmark date. It needs to be in the physical hands of the staff. Please leave adequate mailing time. I recommend paying for tracking on the letter so that you can be sure it is received and on time.
My address and/or name has changed. What do I need to do to notify the Commission?
Call the REC (304-558-3555) or download a change of address form and/or name change from WV REC website form is here and mail it in right away with the $10 fee.